The One Who Gave It All

Posted on Updated on

I’ll be honest- things are tight for us right now.  I’m sure you can relate.  Our decisions over the last couple of years, which we felt were choices of obedience, have brought us to a difficult place financially.  So now, in the wake of “giving up” a bunch of things we didn’t really want to give up, we find ourselves in the face of possibly giving up more.  And I have moments of wrestling with that.  Moments of wishing that obedience to Jesus wasn’t actually hard.  Moments of wanting to cling tightly to what I have.

But what is it, really, that we have been asked, or may be asked to give up?  Jobs.  A home.  Possessions.  Reputation.  Free time.  Or the hardest one for me- proximity to family and friends.  I like those things.

philippians 2But then I read this.  “Have the same mindset at Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.  And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death- even death on a cross!” Philippians 2:5-8.

Jesus left heaven for me.  He was separated from his Father.  The King of creation became a servant to those he created.  The sinless one took all of humanity’s sin on himself.  The One worthy of all praise and honor was beaten, cursed, and accused.  Jesus died on a cross to buy me back from the devil, whom I had willingly sold myself to.  Because I was worth it to him.  There was nothing more Jesus could have given for me.  I admit, the sacrifices I’ve been asked to make feel so small in light of the One who walked away from everything.

“So I’ll stand with arms high and heart abandoned, in awe of the one who gave it all.  I’ll stand, my soul Lord, to you surrendered.  All I am is yours.”

I am, indeed, in awe.  When I consider how hard it is to give up these earthly things I cling to, I cannot fathom how Jesus gave all that he did.  So, daily, I’m surrendering my desires, my plans, my things, my soul.  What Lord, can I offer you in the light of all you’ve offered me?  I’ll give you all that I am, as small as it is, and pray you will turn this life into a spotlight on your glory.

Leave a Reply

