Finding Joy At The Tombs

Posted on

We find ourselves smack dab in the middle of one awesome new homeschool co-op here in Al Ain.  A handful of families who believe in homeschooling and also know the benefit of pooling resources, ideas, and efforts.  In the short time we’ve been here, I’ve found great solace in the weekly company of these moms.  But more than just time for the moms, we’re also building community as families.  Today, one of these dear families arranged a field trip to the Hafeet tombs.  This UNESCO world heritage site is home to burial tombs that are almost 5000 years old.  And since our field trip started at 3:00, the dads got to join in too.

I must confess, my morning was pretty rough today.  A few emotional blows that left me crying in bed instead of homeschooling my kiddos.  But I picked up and dusted off, and found these 7 blessings this afternoon:

1. Seeing things built 5000 years ago.  This is not a common occurrence in North America.  It’s hard to fathom, but so cool to see.

20141201_05022. The tombs are nestled in the shadow of Jebel Hafeet mountain, which is sparse, jagged, and stunning.  Climbing, exploring, and photographing- all soothing to my soul.

20141201_04683. I discovered that I can take a selfie with an SLR camera.  Abby asked me where the button was to turn the screen around for selfies.  Oh, 21st century.  You’re hilarious.  Look what you’ve created. 20141201_04814. Josiah is practically moving out soon.  I see glimpses of graduation photos in the near future, but feel like I was just capturing his chubby toddler cheeks last week.  Thank you Lord, that I can be with him every day right now, because I can’t soak this up enough.

20141201_04605. I think Abby might be the bravest person in our family.  She navigated this scary looking peak like it was nothing.  I was shaking in my boots.  Or rather my sandals, because I was clearly not properly outfitted for this field trip.20141201_04886. That little group of cars down there is what I like to call our Al Ain homeschool parking lot.  4×4 recommended.  Location subject to change.  Seriously.  Have I mentioned recently that I am so grateful to educate my children this way?20141201_0496

7. These four, all together.  My favorite. 20141201_0486

 

 

3 thoughts on “Finding Joy At The Tombs

    barbaraarenburg said:
    December 2, 2014 at 12:25 am

    What an amazing experience! Our family is travelling here from our Canadian home through your blog! And thank you for sharing so honestly from your heart about a true day in the life of your new home schooling world, and new country you’re embracing, with likely a whole lot of waves of missing home among other daily issues. You are right to soak it up and seize your days, your moments. Beautiful family, and beautiful adventures, and beautiful memories being made. Blessings to you.

      jendhansen responded:
      December 2, 2014 at 6:54 pm

      Thanks so much, barbaraarenburg! I am grateful that you feel both the joy and the struggle we’re facing here- that’s my highest goal with this blog. Authenticity and inspiration. 🙂 Blessings to your family as well.

        barbaraarenburg said:
        December 8, 2014 at 5:14 am

        Haven’t travelled nearly as far as you have, but far enough to feel that pull from home and family and those waves of loneliness (and sometimes pangs of regret), but all mixed in with delightful new adventures and eye opening experiences that give us insight into other perspectives we’d never have known had we not left home. So glad you are using your blog to live authentically and still with eyes open and up. I wish I had of thought of blogging 7 years ago when we left our nation for another! Good for you! Looking forward to journeying with you through your blog. Blessings on your day!

Leave a Reply

