The Brainstorming Phase

Posted on

Sometimes there’s just so much to say about life, it feels impossible to start.  I’m just gonna pick up where I left off with my last post.  Eventually, maybe I’ll get all caught up again.

After 2 weeks on the Croatian coast (aka. God’s sweet gift to us), we spent 10 days in Ljubljana, Slovenia.  We traveled there last year and loved it, so when Dwayne was looking for a spot to take his first level paragliding course, we knew the kids and I could happily spend over a week in that beautiful city.  I call this second phase of our summer trip, the brainstorming phase.  While we spent Croatia grieving and processing and coming around to immense gratitude, we spent Ljubljana investigating and dreaming of life possibilities upon return to Canada.  We knew our goals and priorities for our life upon return, so how could we live those out?  How can we focus on building God’s kingdom instead of our own?  How can we pursue His joy in our life?  How can we live on less than what we earn so that we’re truly free to serve and love and enjoy God’s blessings?

So while Dwayne spent his days sweating and climbing and jumping and flying, I spent my days researching and presenting him with a different idea every day.

We considered a lot of options.  Could we live in an RV?  How about a tiny home?  Or maybe a mobile home?  I have to say, I’m super proud of my family for working through this process.  We were open to every one of these possibilities and we worked through a lot of ideas and clarified what is really important to each of us.

So.  What did we choose?  Now that we’re back in Chilliwack, how did it all unfold?  Which option did we go with?

I’ll keep you posted.

We didn’t know the answer when we left Ljubljana, so I don’t want to get ahead of myself.  We left Ljubljana with our heads swimming with possibilities.  But in the midst of all the processing, we enjoyed the delights of Slovenia in an even deeper way than last summer.  Slovenia is a lot like BC’s Fraser Valley- parks, lakes, rivers, and caves.  But Ljubljana is full of European flair- castles, markets, monuments, and beautiful architecture.  If you didn’t catch my recommendation fully enough last summer, let me reiterate: visit this country if you can.  You won’t be disappointed.

Dwayne’s paragliding bunny hill.  Climb hill loaded with equipment, set up, fly for 30 seconds, repeat.

Skocjan Caves, Slovenia.  We couldn’t take photos in the main caverns, so this is all I’ve got.  Some sights are too amazing for cameras anyway.

At Ljubljana’s annual beach volleyball tournament, under the shadow of the castle.  We happened to be in Ljubljana last year for this tournament too.  Maybe this should be our annual summer tradition.

My camera wasn’t out for most of this leg of our trip.  It was full of regular life family days and down time.  More of what we needed, when we needed it.

One thought on “The Brainstorming Phase

    Peninah said:
    November 15, 2016 at 10:14 am

    Hi , so encourage by some of the blogs I read.
    I would like to connect with you as my husband and I are about to venture out there in about 3 weeks time.

    Peninah
    peninah.arendse@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

